Book Review

One of my goals for 2018 was to read more.  My husband also bought me this Kindle for Valentine’s Day and I love it.  Every day I devote some time to reading after I have completed my tasks for the day. It is very relaxing and I enjoy getting lost in a book. Today I wanted to review some of my favorites so far.

The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper – Loved this book. On the one-year anniversary after his wife’s death, Arthur finds a charm bracelet while going through her things. He has never seen it before and embarks on a journey to find out what each charm means.  It is a very heartwarming story and also very funny. Arthur is a very sweet man and I found myself rooting for him the whole time.

How to Find Love in a Bookshop –  After Emilia’s father’s death she takes over his beloved bookshop. The story is not only about her, but also the customers. The story is told from the perspective of a few different characters. It reminded me a lot of the movie Love Actually which also happens to be one of my favorite movies. 🙂 This was another heart-warming and funny book and I loved it.

The Hideaway – The Hideaway is a B & B that Mags owned and after her death, she leaves it to her granddaughter Sara.  Sara travels to Sweet Bay, Alabama where she discovers a mystery about her grandmother that changes her life forever.  There were parts that were funny and there were also parts of this story that were sad. But I loved the story and the characters.

The Tuscan Child –  Hugo is a British bomber pilot and he is parachuted from his stricken plane into German-occupied Tuscany. Badly wounded, he found refuge in a ruined monastery and in the arms of Sofia Bartoli.  After Hugo’s death,  his daughter Joanna finds a letter and discovers a mystery about her father. The mystery brings her to Tuscany where she learns about what happened to him. She meets quite a bunch of characters while she is there and eats a lot of delicious food. This was a wonderful story about love, family, and friendship. I loved it. I now want to go to Tuscany and eat that delicious food! 🙂

White Rose Black Forest – This book was more of a thriller.  It takes place in 1943 in the Black Forest. Franka finds a wounded soldier in an enemy uniform and decides that she must save him or he will die. It is a story of friendship and survival. I loved the main characters and this story.

A Man Called Ove – Ove is a grumpy old man. He has a strict routine and has very staunch principles.  Behind his cranky exterior, there is a story and a sadness.  After his neighbors run over his mailbox you learn more about Ove and also his neighbors. This book had me laughing out loud and it was also very heartwarming.  I loved it and was a little bit sad when I finished it.

I may try to do a book review post every few months. Also, if you have any recommendations please let me know. 🙂

Thank you so much for stopping by and have a great day!

3 thoughts on “Book Review”

Leave a comment