Turkey Taco Skillet Recipe

IMG_1842

Hi Everyone!

I hope that you are all having a great week so far. Today I wanted to share a recipe with you that I recently tried and that I will be adding to my meal rotation.  You can find the original recipe here: http://www.yummyhealthyeasy.com/2014/06/turkey-taco-skillet.html. I made a few changes though to personalize it though.

 

Turkey Taco Skillet 

Ingredients:

1 lb. extra-lean ground turkey
1 pkg. of reduced sodium taco seasoning

 2¼ cups water

1 (16-oz) jar of salsa (I use Newman’s Own Mild Chunky, or Trader Joe’s.)

1 chopped red bell pepper

1  chopped green pepper

1 bag of brown rice (I use one bag of Trader Joe’s frozen brown rice.)

1 bag of frozen corn

Instructions:
1. In a large skillet over medium heat, cook and brown ground turkey, breaking it up into pieces.
2. Stir in reduced-sodium taco seasoning mix, water, red and green peppers, salsa and corn.

3. Add the brown rice and mix everything together.

4. Serve in a bowl with your choice of toppings. I like to sprinkle some low-fat Mexican blend shredded cheese and a little bit of cilantro.

5. Enjoy!

I cook the brown rice and the corn in the microwave, but if you want to add into the skillet uncooked, that is fine. This whole recipe will take you 30 minutes to make. This is a great weeknight meal or when you want to cook something fast. Maybe save some leftovers for lunch the next day too. 🙂 I hope that you will all give this recipe a try and that you enjoy it.

Thank you for stopping by and I hope that you all have a fabulous day! 🙂

 

 

2 thoughts on “Turkey Taco Skillet Recipe”

Leave a comment